Croup and “the call”

Goodness me what a day, where do I begin?

As you know from yesterday’s blog Isaac has not been too well recently. We took him to see the doctor yesterday and were told that he has croup…I must confess that until the childminder mentioned croup yesterday I didn’t have a clue what croup was! On the off chance that like me you don’t “Croup is a condition that causes an inflammation of the upper airways — the voice box (larynx) and windpipe (trachea). It often leads to a barking cough or hoarseness, especially when a child cries.” http://kidshealth.org/parent/infections/lung/croup.html
It’s not fun!

Yesterday when Isaac stated home with daddy he was fine, hardly coughed at all, seemingly on the mend, I told work no problem I would be in in the morning. Last night Isaac only woke one…considerably better than once an hour like the previous nights and when he got up in the morning he was happy as Larry (whoever he is) so I went about the morning as usual and dropped him with the childminder on my way to work.

It got to about 10:30 and I thought I’d check and see how he was doing…not good, he should probably go home, he’s not himself, crying every time the childminder puts him down…yep, he’s sick, it’s what he does when he’s unwell, he has to be attached to you at ALL times, it’s the only tone he wants to be. I apologised to work and made my way back to my poor sick baby.

To be honest he seemed to perk up when he came home, it doesn’t matter what age you are, home is where you want to be when you’re sick. He refused his sandwiches so I scraped together macaroni cheese which after spitting out the first few mouthfuls and throwing some on the splash mat he dutifully ate. After that he seemed tired so I gave him calpol and sleepy tiger and popped him in bed. Wails of displeasure. Picked him up, more wails, he wants back down in bed, we danced this dance for a good 40 minutes until finally he went to sleep. 30 minutes later more wails and when I check on him it becomes clear that he’s still asleep but having a nightmare, pick him up, cuddle him, pop him back down. More silence, phew.

I relaxed too soon. Isaac woke up screaming like a child possessed.

I cuddled him as best as I could while he fought and flailed. He was red in the face and making that awful croup seal cough by now so I thought I’d give the doctors suggestion a go, run the shower hot so the bathroom fills with steam to help clear his airways…he was not a fan. I tried everything to calm him down. Nothing worked. I decided to try a film, Isaac doesn’t usually watch much tv but when he’s I’ll he likes to cuddle up in front of the telly with a film. Now you wouldn’t think that this is a hard task but my god how is it so hard to play a film on an Xbox, I’m sure that the screaming child didn’t help. When I was just about to loose my rag with it Roy came home and took over thank God!

A couple of hour down the line we have a sound sleeping boy-for now anyway!

This whole episode made me think about how lucky I am to have someone to support me through all of this, I can not express the admiration I have for the parents of both sexes who do this alone. I love my husband. I love how he works a whole day, comes home and sees me struggling he just drops his bag and takes over. I am so lucky.

More crying, I guess I’ll go be lucky with my crying baby.

20120503-205153.jpg

Leave a Reply

