Happy lines

So last night I was thinking about my scar…the baby one, at this point in time I am still dealing with the traumas of Isaacs delivery and the scar is a reminder every time I see it, it brings my mood down and makes me look back over what happened to both of us, obviously this pretty much ruins my mood.

It started as a big, angry, raised, pink scar, now its more of a thin white line. It got me to thinking that maybe I should be trying to think of my scar as my silver lining instead of this hideous reminder.

So, I need to change the way I think about my scar…how? A bit like Pavlovs dogs I guess. I need to start associating my scar with positive memories. I should try to look at my scar and think about how lucky I am to have such a wonderful little boy, I really am very lucky.

Every day I’m going to look at my scar and think about some way in which it has made my life better….something that Isaac has done to make my life better. I’m going to look at my scar and think “No scar no Isaac” and I know which way I would rather have my life.

So, day 1, My scar made me happy today because if I didn’t have it Isaac would not be running around in a T-shirt, nappy and wellie boots.

 

2 thoughts on “Happy lines

  1. I, too, have the same scar. I have always thought of it as “this scar is a reminder of how my baby was saved.” It’s still visible and will probably be there for the rest of my life. But, for me, I don’t care. I’m just so happy that my son came out of the disastrous delivery process unharmed 🙂

    So glad you wrote this. I think your approach is really healthy. And who wouldn’t want to chase her child in some sweet wellies?

Leave a Reply

