Hurricaines and Fruit

We have had a rather trying couple of days. tying in with hurricane Isaac our own Isaac has, well, turned into a bit of a hurricane.

He certainly knows his own mind…and I’m sure cutting three molars isn’t helping but my little man has an extremely short fuse. He knows what he wants and if he can’t have it then it is the end of the world for all involved. It’s gotten me to thinking how forceful do I want to be with no. Now, further down the line when he is a little older and I can reason with him and suggest alternatives then that is what I will be doing but what about now?

He’s too little to get alternatives and reason certainly doesn’t work so what now? I don’t want to say no, maybe we should do this instead and then fold when he literally throws himself on the floor and cries. I don’t want him to think if he cries and I walk away or ignore it that I don’t care and I don’t want to try to soothe him if it is going to make him worse. I’m thinking for now, untill he’s a bit older I’ll have to settle for distraction.

Isaac is the most trying and rewarding that he has ever been, but when he’s trying, he’s really trying.

He is also really really rewarding and just the sweetest wee man!

He can now dribble with a football, and is so very proud of himself when he does. He’s started to spoon feed himself his food and even started using a fork the other day too…a little hairy but the boy wants what he wants.

Speeking of hair it’s time for the wee man to have one…once agin he’s getting a bit mulety, but fingers crossed this time all of his hiar will grow at the same rate!

The word No (na) has worked its way to the top of Isaacs favourite word list and he says it to everything…”do you want dinner?” “na” (goes and stands in kitchen waiting for dinner), “do you want a bath?” “na” and two minutes later he’s standing by the bathroom door waiting for us like we’ve taken too long!! I can’t wait for the novelty of na to wear off!

Now onto the trials of stinky tiger…those of you who know Isaac will know stinky tiger and how disgusting he is. We’re trying to confine hm to bedroom use only…partly because he actually makes the car smell…yes I’m not joking, I’ve checked Isaacs nappy on several occasions after a car trip to discover that in fact it is the tiger! Gross! It’s not only the general disgustigness of the tiger…it’s Isaacs teeth. I’m worried that sucking on that tiger tail will make his teeth stick out, and while Roy says he’s too young for there to be any sort of lasting effect I can’t get the thought out of my mind. Almost a year ago we got rid of the soother and got sucked into thetiger trap and now we need to claw ourselves out of it!

Luckily for us Isaac has now decided that actually he does like fruit…phew! Grapes…cut in half obviously, plums, any type of berries…our house is a bountiful fruit store, long may it continue. The bigger plus of Isaac deciding that he like fruit is that I am eating more of it too and less of the chocccy biscuits!

And lastly but not leastly…I have discovered that Isaac really is like his daddy…boundless confidence! On several outings recently Isaac has been that odd kid that just goes and stands and stares at other people! They look like they might be having fun and he thinks he might want to join in…I must confess that as a painfully shy child I am so pleased that he is confident enough to branch out on his own but is always aware that mummy and daddy are just in the background, waiting in case he needs us.

What a wonderful thing being a parent is!!

 

Leave a Reply

