This is Halloween

Isaac is at his child minders today, as it is Halloween I thought it would be nice if he dressed up for the occasion! I didn’t want a scary child so I thought I’d go for something cute! He has a magnet that he loves on our fridge, it is of Totoro, if you don’t know who he is here is a little pic for you:

He’s a character from a lovely Studio Ghibli animation called My Neighbour Totoro, written and directed by Hayao Miyazaki. As a family we watch a lot of Studio Ghibli films…my personal favourites are Spirited away and Kiki’s delivery service. I decided that Totoro it was!

I purchased a cheap grey hoody and pair of joggers from H&M, who by the way have some amazing little boys clothes at the moment …infact both of Isaacs favourite t-shirts come from there!

I got some felt squares from my local fabric shop and set to work (after stealing borrowing my mums sewing machine). It took me a while to get back into sewing and I had a bit of a falling out with the machine at one point but it ended up going rather well!

I sewed a cream belly on the front of the hoody, making sure to leave space so that the zip could still open and close (not much point in a hoody that doesn’t do that). Once that was secured the little grey V shapes were sewn on and his belly was done! Next issue was the face. A little brown felt nose, beady eyes and then just the ears to tackle, they had to be sewn on by hand in the end as I was at a loss as to how I could machine them exactly as I wanted them (some things are just better done by hand). Below is the finished article!

 

 

 

 

 

And here is a happy boy wearing it!

What a happy little spirit he is! I dropped him at the child minders this morning ready for some Halloween fun. Picked up chocolate on the way to work for the trick or treaters but forgot to pick up a pumpkin…I am adamant that I will be carving one today (with the help of the wee one and the hubby).

Happy Halloween everyone!!

 

Leave a Reply

